Endorse your motif - The Rudraksh !

Endorse your motif - The Rudraksh !

Silk sarees carry a lot of history and heritage. Each saree is uniquely handcrafted and has a story to tell. Traditional motifs define silk sarees. These motifs are elegantly woven into the fabric using gold or silver zari. There are different types of motifs commonly used on silk such as the paisley motif, peacock motif, yazhi motif, temple designs, Rudraksh motif etc.

The Rudraksh :

The Rudraksh is considered to be extremely sacred and is devoted to Lord Shiva. In fact, 'Rudraksh' is one of the vedic names for lord Shiva. There are different types of Rudraksh depending on the number of faces it has.

Rudraksh as a motif :

The round or circular motif we see in our sarees are not generic shapes created to make the saree attractive. It is a form of Rudraksh creatively woven into the saree. The Rudraksh motif is used in different sizes for each saree to make it more diverse and unique. The placement and size of Rudraksh differs for each saree. It can be placed as bigger motif on the the borders or as intricate smaller motifs all over the body.

Evolution of Rudraksh motif :

In the beginning, the Rudraksh motif had a simple circular form. As a result of innovation and creativity it has been evolved into beautiful varieties. There are floral variants, traditional ones and more modern concepts of this motif; but all of these pay heed to the original conception of the motif.







Back to blog